Caroline True Records - home of quality Post-Punk, Electronic and Uneasy listening...
Panier 0


“Fame” Jon Savage’s Secret History Of Post-Punk (1978-81) 2021 Digisleeve CD Re-Edition (CTRUE28CD) (300 Ltd Edition )


*****Jon Savage's “Fame” Jon Savage’s Secret History Of Post-Punk (1978-81) 2021 CD Re-Edition " *****

*****Limited CD Edition (300) *****Digisleeve & 12 Page Booklet With Jon's Full Sleevenotes  & more****

Cover / liner-notes by Jon Savage. Artwork features previously unpublished photos, artwork and memorabilia from the era.

Featuring 21 essential tracks from impLOG, File Under Pop, AC Marias, The Flying Lizards, Rema Rema, Robert Rental and Thomas Leer, DNA, Wire, The Urinals and more...

(SHIPPING ***USA,EU & Rest Of World - Sent In strong dedicated CD mailers & cheap)

 "Fame" 2021 Re-Edition Mini-Mix-Listen Here!





It may be suggested that the art of the good compilation album is one that is finely balanced between selecting the familiar and the obscure. known pleasures sit alongside previously unheard offerings, ready to open up new areas of musical contemplation. 


When this collection originally appeared in 2012 critical acclaim was generous:

"Tracks that, especially in our current world of templated genre, seem nothing less than extraordinary. So fired, as they all are, by the ferocity of innovative abandon – an overwhelming desire to create something shockingly new".

(Mick Middles-The Quietus 2012)

In 2021, by public demand, a slightly revised version of the collection is offered here as a Ltd vinyl ( & CD) Re-Edition. 

 The spine of this collection are tracks by post-punk luminaries Wire, Joy Division and the Prefects. not so 'secret' you may think, but consider the nascent lo-fi Subway Sect, the uncompromising other-worldly sounds of  impLOG's “Holland Tunnel Dive” & the hyper obscure experimentalism of File Under Pop and you're getting the idea. From Pere Ubu's dystopian phychedelia to the motorik of Chrome, it's a snapshot of a brief era, heavy on invention.

 Full Tracklisting:


1–Pere Ubu Heart Of Darkness 4:47

2–Chrome  Chromosome Damage 3:51

3–Nigel Simpkins Times Encounter 2:25

4–Subway Sect Imbalance (Rehearsal) 2:25

5–File Under Pop Heathrow 5:04

6–Cabaret Voltaire Partially Submerged 3:55

7–The Prefects Total Luck 4:07

8–Mars E 2:55

9–Rosa Yemen Herpes Simplex 2:03

10–A.C. Marias Drop 4 :32

11–Kleenex Ain't You 3:03

12–Noh Mercy Caucasian Guilt 1:04

13 Flying Lizards Hands 2 Take 4.06

14–The Human League The Dignity Of Labour Pt 4:00

15–Wire A Touching Display (Demo) 5:19

16–Joy Division Autosuggestion 6:11

17–Thomas Leer & Robert Rental The Hard Way In & The Easy Way Out  4:44

18–Urinals Sex 1:08

19–The Method Actors Do The Method 5:11

20–DNA-Blonde Red Head 1:50

21–IMPlog-Holland Tunnel Drive 7:38


Jon Savage can best be described as a cultural commentator, writer and long-time music journalist. (The Guardian, NME, The Face, Melody Maker). he is also the Sex Pistols and Joy Division biographer and writer of the acclaimed "Teenage" & "This Searing Light, the Sun and Everything Else: Joy Division: The Oral History.

Actually, Jon is really a secret national treasure. 

Order the limited (300) double vinyl edition HERE:




Partager ce produit