Caroline True Records - home of quality Post-Punk, Electronic and Uneasy listening...
Cart 0


“Fame” Jon Savage’s Secret History Of Post-Punk (1978-81) 2021 Dble Vinyl Re-Edition (CTRUE28) (300 Ltd Edition )


Very special limited vinyl 2021 Re-Edition (300) with revised tracklisting & artwork of the acclaimed 2012 CTR release double 12" vinyl deluxe package with extensive liner-notes, colour inner-sleeves + digital download

(+ Free A4 signed & numbered Jon Savage montage print (1980) with first 150 pre-order copies)

Cover / liner-notes by Jon Savage. Artwork features previously unpublished photos, artwork and memorabilia from the era.

Featuring 22 essential tracks from impLOG, File Under Pop, AC Marias, The Flying Lizards, Rema Rema, Robert Rental and Thomas Leer, DNA, Wire, The Urinals and more...

(SHIPPING ***USA,EU & Rest Of World Shipping For This Album Comes With A Tracking Number-Note: USA/ROW up to 3 Copies of this or any Dble album= same shipping cost as 1!***)

 "Fame" 2021 Re-Edition Mini-Mix-Listen Here!


It may be suggested that the art of the good compilation album is one that is finely balanced between selecting the familiar and the obscure. known pleasures sit alongside previously unheard offerings, ready to open up new areas of musical contemplation. 

When this collection originally appeared in 2012 critical acclaim was generous:

"Tracks that, especially in our current world of templated genre, seem nothing less than extraordinary. So fired, as they all are, by the ferocity of innovative abandon – an overwhelming desire to create something shockingly new".

(Mick Middles-The Quietus 2012)

In 2021, by public demand, a slightly revised version of the collection is offered here as a Ltd vinyl ( & CD) Re-Edition. 

 The spine of this collection are tracks by post-punk luminaries Wire, Joy Division and the Prefects. not so 'secret' you may think, but consider the nascent lo-fi Subway Sect, the uncompromising other-worldly sounds of  impLOG's “Holland Tunnel Dive” & the hyper obscure experimentalism of File Under Pop and you're getting the idea. From Pere Ubu's dystopian phychedelia to the motorik of Chrome, it's a snapshot of a brief era, heavy on invention.

 Full Tracklisting:


A1–Pere Ubu Heart Of Darkness 4:47

A2–Chrome  Chromosome Damage 3:51

A3–Nigel Simpkins Times Encounter 2:25

A4–Subway Sect Imbalance (Rehearsal) 2:25

A5–File Under Pop Heathrow 5:04

A6–Cabaret Voltaire Partially Submerged 3:55

B1–The Prefects Total Luck 4:07

B2–Mars E 2:55

B3–Rosa Yemen Herpes Simplex 2:03

B4–A.C. Marias Drop 4 :32

B5–Kleenex Ain't You 3:03

B6–Noh Mercy Caucasian Guilt 1:04

B7 Flying Lizards Hands 2 Take 4.06

C1–The Human League The Dignity Of Labour Pt 4:00

C2–Wire A Touching Display (Demo) 5:19

C3–Joy Division Autosuggestion 6:11

C4–Thomas Leer & Robert Rental The Hard Way In & The Easy Way Out  4:44

D1–Urinals Sex 1:08

D2–The Method Actors Do The Method 5:11

D3–Rema-Rema Rema Rema 4:25

D4–DNA-Blonde Red Head 1:50

D5–IMPlog-Holland Tunnel Drive 7:38


Jon Savage can best be described as a cultural commentator, writer and long-time music journalist. (The Guardian, NME, The Face, Melody Maker). he is also the Sex Pistols and Joy Division biographer and writer of the acclaimed "Teenage" & "This Searing Light, the Sun and Everything Else: Joy Division: The Oral History.

Actually, Jon is really a secret national treasure. 


Album expected October 2021-Updates will be given up to availability/shipping

(We acknowledge the fact that there may be a longer-than-usual wait for the vinyl edition - so, the first 150 pre-orderers will  receive a link to download WAV/FLAC/MP3 upon pre-ordering) 

Order the CD edition here NOW - (Ltd 300 ) 12 page digipack & sleevenotes etc:


Share this Product